Deceived by Jess Michaels

October 16, 2015 Historical Erotica, Historical Romance, Reviews 0 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Deceived by Jess MichaelsDeceived by Jess Michaels
Series: The Wicked Woodleys #2
Published by Jess Michaels on October 13, 2015
Genres: Historical Erotica, Historical Romance
Pages: 236
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Josie Westfall spent a lifetime feeling alone and bullied and an unfortunate incident involving her best friend’s brother, Evan, only made things worse. Still, when she and her mother are invited to the wedding he will be attending, they can’t exactly refuse. She hopes to avoid him, but instead they are thrown together and she is shocked to find that she actually begins to like the man she’s thought of as an enemy for years.

Evan has always felt terrible about what he said to Josie years before, but he’s never quite been able to make it up to her. When he tries, he discovers Josie may have a few secrets and some information about his missing sister. Now he must decide, should he betray her by trading on the unexpected attraction between them and discover what she knows? Or could the possibility of love be worth more than anything else?

Josie Westfall has loved Even Hartwell from the moment she laid eyes on him.  As children, they and their siblings played together.  At least until Even discovered older girls and a desire to impress them.  When Evan inadvertently humiliates Josie, his careless actions spark a decade of cold shoulders and withering looks and his subsequent attempts at apologies fall on deaf ears.  It isn’t until Josie and Evan are thrust together at his sister’s wedding that Evan realizes just how attractive Josie is and Josie acknowledges her feelings for Evan never went away.

Jess Michaels has done it again!  A brilliantly crafted love story that draws the reader into the lives of these regency ton, adding a frustrating mystery surrounding the disappearance of Evan’s sister Claire, and teaching life lessons we could all learn at some point or another.  In DECEIVED, Evan and Josie must learn to let go of their past mistakes and focus on forging a new future together, even when that future might not be the one they originally planned for themselves.

Josie is curious, compassionate, and fiercely loyal. Evan is charming, even when you want to hate him, and honorable.  He can’t allow himself to give into his brother’s scheme to force information about Claire’s whereabouts from Josie any sooner than he can resist the temptation to give into Josie’s seductive requests.

DECEIVED is the second in a series, but can be read as a stand-alone.  Pick up your copy today!

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply