Publisher: Entangled Publishing

Divider

Wild Ride by Cathryn Fox

December 25, 2015 Contemporary Romance, Erotica, Reviews 0 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Wild Ride by Cathryn FoxWild Ride by Cathryn Fox
Series: Playing for Keeps #2
Published by Entangled Publishing on October 19, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 98
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars
Good girl, meet bad cowboy...

Marketing Tycoon Tyler Mackenzie, a.k.a. Wildman Mac, has a knack for knowing what people want and, more importantly, what they need…so when he decides to show sweet and sexy yoga instructor Jess Gray that she's the one for him, he puts a seductive campaign into motion.

When Mac defines the terms for the week and insists she do everything he says, Jess can't help but be intrigued. Since this good girl wants to break free and do something naughty, she agrees to his terms and soon finds herself embarking on a sexual journey that knows no limits. For Jess this is one week of living out her fantasies, but Mac is determined to make this wild ride last forever.

One week can change someone for a lifetime.  Tyler Mackenzie has always known that his childhood friend Jess was the perfect woman for him and has harbored deep feelings for her since their high school days together.  Tyler convinces Jess to come to his ranch and spends the week showing her exactly all the ways he is as perfect for her as she is for him.  And of course, he is the only one who is able to fulfill all her shy, dirty fantasies she’s kept hidden from the rest of the world.

Wow, wow, and wow!  What a fun and naughty read!  I loved this novella from start to finish and really wish it could have been longer.  In true novella fashion, Tyler and Jess fall into bed pretty quickly, but this was somewhat believable knowing these characters had a long past together.  The sex is steamy and even kinky!  This is the perfect book for those looking for a quick read that may spark some new ideas for your own bedroom.

Divider

Tempting the New Boss by Angela Claire

December 22, 2015 Contemporary Romance, Erotica, Reviews 0 ★★★

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Tempting the New Boss by Angela ClaireTempting the New Boss by Angela Claire
Series: Sleeping With the Enemy #3
Published by Entangled Publishing on October 19, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 200
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
three-stars
Sometimes you have to break the rules…

When Camilla Anderson loses her job just as a position at Talbot Inc. opens up, there's no way she's questioning the lucky break. Working for the quirky, reclusive CEO will pay off her student loans within a year, and they're flying to Europe in his private jet.

Mason Talbot isn't good at talking to women. Well, to anyone, really. But when his new lawyer boards his plane, biology kicks in. But he can't tell if her adverse reaction is to him or his painfully awkward attempts at flirting.

As the flight gets bumpier, Mr. High IQ gets calmer. And…he holds her hand? Maybe the guy is redeemable after all. As soon as they land, she'll have to teach her endearingly awkward new boss how to seduce a girl properly.

That is, if they don't die in a fiery plane crash first.

Mason Talbot is incredibly blunt, almost registering on the Asperger’s scale.  He’s a billionaire who unfortunately needs more than a little help navigating social situations.  Thankfully his new lawyer, Camilla Anderson, is a whiz at reading people and diffusing tense situations.

This was a slow-start kind of book.  I didn’t really connect to the characters, but was eventually entertained by their story.  Mason’s bluntness is almost comical at times and as a reader I almost felt sorry for him.  Camilla was a little wishy-washy.  She’s say one thing and do another, which I felt was a little off-putting and disingenuous to her lawyer-background character.

That said, the romance was sweet and the sex steamy, just the way I like my erotica!  I definitely gave bonus points for having such an unique hero like Mason.

Divider

The Lost Soul of Lord Badewyn by Mia Marlowe

November 24, 2015 Historical Romance, Paranormal Romance, Reviews 0 ★★★★½

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Lost Soul of Lord Badewyn by Mia MarloweThe Lost Soul of Lord Badewyn by Mia Marlowe
Series: Order of the M.U.S.E. #3
Published by Entangled Publishing on November 23, 2015
Genres: Historical Romance, Paranormal Romance
Pages: 318
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Meg Anthony was never raised a lady. Instead, she grew up amongst grifters who used her unique “finding” ability for their own selfish purposes. Recently, she's been taken under the wing of the Duke of Camden and the Order of M.U.S.E., learning not only the fine art of becoming a lady, but how to use her extraordinary talent to help others.

But Meg's gift is a beacon to unsavory characters who would possess her.

Charged with her protection, Lord Badewyn knows—too well—that his wild, Welsh castle is no safe haven for this lovely, all-too-desirable creature. Part human, part fallen angel, he is one of the Nephilim. He is a recluse sworn never to love. As the dangers to Meg grow more threatening, he cannot help but find himself tempted beyond all reason...and tested to see if he has both a heart and a soul.

Another fantastic installment in the Order of the M.U.S.E. series!  In this book, Meg Anthony – a supernaturally-gifted finder of lost things – is introduced to Lord Samuel Badewyn, an intelligent recluse who cares more for what is found amongst the stars and heavenly bodies than the physical bodies of humans.  Lord Badewyn is only half human, the son of a fallen angel and the human he fell in love with.  Now he eschews human interaction for fear of what his father will do – every time one of his father’s sons marry, Sam’s father seduces and impregnates the wife who later dies in childbirth.  It is this deceit that keeps Sam and Meg apart for much of the story.  Sam cares too much for Meg’s life to endanger it by marrying her.  Of course, Meg’s determination, feisty nature, and inability to act like a proper lady – once a bemoaned curse – helps brings these lovers together (and provide some much needed comedic relief too).

Other characters are equally compelling and fans of this series will recognize some familiar faces from previous books.  I’ve been interested in learning Meg’s story since the first novel and now we finally get it.

As with the other Order of the M.U.S.E. books, there is mystery, suspense, and paranormal doings interspersed throughout this entertaining regency romance.  If you enjoy a dash of paranormal in your romances, please check out this entire series!  This particular novel can be read as a standalone as the author does an excellent job of explaining just enough of the necessary elements for new readers to understand what’s going on without needing to read the other novels in the series.

Divider

Gambling on the Bodyguard by Sarah Ballance

October 23, 2015 Contemporary Romance, Erotica 0 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Gambling on the Bodyguard by Sarah BallanceGambling on the Bodyguard by Sarah Ballance
Series: What Happens in Vegas #8
Published by Entangled Publishing on October 12, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 154
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars
He'll guard her body all night long...

Ski instructor Ellie Montgomery hits Vegas during a romance convention to meet the man of her dreams...only, the man of her dreams isn't the cover model she's there to see. He's the hot-as-sin bodyguard who catches her sneaking in the back door of a meet-and-greet, and he seems more than ready to do what it takes to prove he's twice the man her pretty boy crush could ever be.

Jax Mathis couldn't resist snagging a date with Ellie, but he didn't count on the attraction being more than physical. They connect on a level he didn't think possible--and he can't run fast enough. She makes him want things he thought he'd never have, and maybe, just maybe, they're within reach. But to have it, he'll have to face the one mountain he swore he'd never climb...and with no guarantee she'll be waiting on the other side.

Ellie Montgomery’s love life is stagnated, caught up in the fantasy of finding Mr. Perfect like the heroes in the romance novels she reads.  When she wins a ticket for an “intimate affair” with her favorite cover model, she’s off to Las Vegas and the local romance novel convention.  But when her ticket to excitement goes down the toilet – literally – Ellie is determined to still meet her cover model hero.  Instead, she’s met with a wall of muscle while attempting to sneak in the back door – Jax Mathis.  With a little blackmail, some bacon, and a lot of false confidence, Ellie and Jax soon create an intimate affair of their own.  What happens in Vegas, right?  Wrong!

This novel was a fun-filled fantasy from start to (a very sweet and satisfying) finish.  The plot is engaging, the characters witty, and the romantic sizzle an absolutely perfect balance between lust and love.  Ellie and Jax connect suddenly, but deeply and though their love develops in about three days (this is a suspend-your-belief-and-enjoy-the-fantasy type novel), it’s clear they are soul mates whose love will last a lifetime.

Ms. Ballance does an excellent job packing a lot of drama, action, and romance into one short, entertaining novel.  I’m excited to see what she comes up with next!

Divider

One Forbidden Knight by Nicola Davidson

October 20, 2015 Historical Romance, Reviews 0 ★★½

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

One Forbidden Knight by Nicola DavidsonOne Forbidden Knight by Nicola Davidson
Published by Entangled Publishing on October 19, 2015
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 113
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
two-half-stars
An unexpected seduction...

Catherine Linwood is amongst the favored of Tudor Queen Mary-until her physician father dies mysteriously. She's distraught, shunned and desperate for answers. Catherine's only ally is Sir Brandon FitzAlan... who is willing to risk his life to protect hers. While the handsome stranger's courage and wit soon capture her heart, his true allegiance and purpose is uncertain.

Brand is well used to the lies and shadows of court. Yet nothing prepares him for his sizzling attraction to innocent Catherine, or the deadly plot she is tangled in, for her father took a secret to his grave that could tear Catholic England apart. With one chance at salvation, Brand and Catherine begin a cross-country journey that reveals the shocking truth... and a burning passion that could save or destroy them both.

Set in during the reign of “Bloody Mary” Tudor, ONE FORBIDDEN KNIGHT tells the story of Lady Catherine Linwood, a favorite to the Queen and daughter of a beloved physician, and Sir Brandon Fitzallen, a solider who is determined to discover the reasons behind the mysterious death of Catherine’s father.

Catherine is an educated young woman, intelligent, compassionate, and incredibly loyal.  Brandon is equally intelligent, though is bitter and cynical due to his father’s rejection and hard life as a soldier.  When Catherine and Brandon are accused of plotting against the Queen, their love and loyalty stand firm in the face of conspiracy and distrust.

Overall, ONE FORBIDDEN KNIGHT is an entertaining read, but the pacing was off.  It felt very rushed all the way through.  Moreover, Catherine and Brandon’s love is of the “instant” variety, which is not my favorite since it comes across forced and unrealistic. I would have loved this story more if it had been another 100 pages longer.

Divider

The Madness of Lord Westfall by Mia Marlowe

September 25, 2015 Historical Romance, Reviews 0 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Madness of Lord Westfall by Mia MarloweThe Madness of Lord Westfall by Mia Marlowe
Series: Order of the M.U.S.E.
Published by Entangled Publishing on September 21, 2015
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 248
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars
He thought he knew madness... until he met her.

Pierce Langdon, Viscount Westfall is mad. Everyone knows it. He fell from a tree when he was a boy and woke to hear strange voices. When the voices grow stronger as he grows older, his family commits him to Bedlam. But what he hears are the thoughts of those around him-a gift to be used in service to the Order of the M.U.S.E. Until he falls again...this time for a totally unsuitable woman.

Lady Nora Claremont hides her heartbreak behind the facade of a carefree courtesan. Viscount Westfall is the most confusing man she's ever met. He seems to know exactly what she wants...and what she's thinking.

Which is a dangerous thing, because what Nora wants is Pierce. And what she's thinking could expose her as a traitor to the crown...

I am so very glad I gave this novel a try.  I tend to find paranormal romance cheesy (thank you, Twilight), but the back cover sounded interesting, so I wanted to give it a shot.  Great decision!  This novel is well-written and managed the very difficult task of pairing historical romance and paranormal romance in a seamless and engrossing fashion.  At first, the large cast of characters were problematic to grasp – which is the hero?  What is his/her talent?  How are those two connected again?  But after laying the necessary groundwork for the series, this novel re-focuses on the hero and heroine, Pierce and Nora.

Pierce has the ability to hear the thoughts of everyone around him.  His talent earned him a place in Bedlam, but he was rescued by a fellow peer who recognized his abilities for what they were and not the “madness” his title-envying relatives believed.  Pierce struggles to erect mental shields from the constant bombardment of voices and as a result is quiet, contemplative, and incredibly intuitive (even without using his gift).

Nora has no physic gifts, but rather uses her natural charisma and intelligence to make her way through life.  Cut off by her aristocratic family, Nora has transformed into the alluring and coveted “La Nora,” a courtesan of immense talent and beauty.

Pierce and Nora fulfill the gaping emotional hole left in their souls by the abandonment and rejection of their families.  With Nora, Pierce is able to see past his “faults,” concentrating instead on his love for Nora and achieving mental and emotional stability.  As a result, he is able to become far better at managing and utilizing his physic gifts.  Likewise, Nora is offered a new chance at love with Pierce, a man who accepts her for who she is regardless of her past and prior position.  Together, they create a loving bond and forge a life for themselves with their new family, the Order of the M.U.S.E.

Although this novel was the second in a series, it reads as a standalone with just a little necessary backstory provided in the beginning.  I thoroughly enjoyed THE MADNESS OF LORD WESTFALL and eagerly await the next installment.

Divider

Bind Me Before You Go by Harper Kincaid

July 24, 2015 Contemporary Romance, Erotica, Reviews 0 ★★★½

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Bind Me Before You Go by Harper KincaidBind Me Before You Go by Harper Kincaid
Series: Serve #8
Published by Entangled Publishing on July 21, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 132
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
three-half-stars
His heart is bound tighter than the bondage he craves...

Determined to put her past behind her, Cassidy Peyton moves to the Big Apple. But New York has a few dark secrets of its own, including Serve, an exclusive BDSM club. It's a place she isn't sure she's ready for, until she sees him watching her. Hot. Intent. Knowing. With eyes that leave her stomach tied in knots, because the loneliness he's trying to hide matches her own.

Security expert David Cavill has more secrets than any man should. Secrets that forever shut down any possibility of love, marriage, or family. Yet Cassidy draws him in, an intoxicating combination of strength, candor, and sensuality that David can't resist. But as their bond deepens, Cassidy must decide if she can love a man whose heart is bound tighter than the form of bondage he craves...

An easy afternoon read that is pure fantasy and sensual excitement, BIND ME BEFORE YOU GO is the eighth installment in the Serve series.  And also the shortest.  While this makes for a quick read on a lazy Saturday afternoon, the shortness of the novel(ella?) means that our hero and heroine – David and Cassidy – didn’t really get a chance to fully develop and shine.  I would have liked to see more exploration of their backstories and how their past relates to their personalities and present desires.

Regardless, this novel was still good.  David and Cassidy explore their desires together in the safe environment of the Serve BDSM club.  Though the novel does involve BDSM, it is light and instead focuses more on the emotional connection between David and Cassidy which in turns plays into their club scenes together.  Theirs is a student/teacher relationship as David teaches Cassidy about the intricacies and art of Shibari, a form of Japanese rope bondage.  David is very considerate of Cassidy, both physically and emotionally, which is precisely what sweet, people-pleasing Cassidy needed.

The plot was a little rushed and the couple’s love of the “insta-” variety, but I did enjoy the book and would pick up another by this author in the future.

Divider

The Highlander’s Choice by Callie Hutton

July 17, 2015 Historical Romance, Reviews 0 ★★★½

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Highlander’s Choice by Callie HuttonThe Highlander's Choice by Callie Hutton
Series: Marriage Mart Mayhem #5
Published by Entangled Publishing on June 14, 2015
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 195
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
three-half-stars
The Scottish Highlands, 1815

Lady Sybil Lacey is every inch an English woman. She's horrified her best friend is wedding a barbarian Scot. For aren't Scots naught but brutish, whiskey-swilling lechers? So to find herself secretly attracted to the tall and devastatingly handsome Scottish laird of Bedlay Castle is quite disconcerting...

Liam MacBride is convinced that English ladies are silly sassenachs who think of nothing but social events and clothes. So why is he intensely drawn to Lady Sybil? All they do is quarrel . . . until loathing turns into undeniable lust.

A tempestuous, fiery romance between an English lady and a Scottish laird cannot end well.

Miss Sybil Lacey is appalled that her best friend is going through with her arranged marriage to a big Scottish brute.  Scots are naught but large, hulking brawlers drunk on ale and lusting after any woman within reach.  She must accompany her friend to the highlands to offer comfort – and perhaps a quick getaway if her friend comes to her senses and wants to leave.  But Sybil is pleased is discover her friend’s fiancee is not so bad, even if the groom’s friend – Liam MacBride – teases her relentlessly.  Like Sybil, Liam has a warped view of the English – they’re nothing but spoiled, pampered princesses lazing about their houses and chasing the man with the largest fortune into matrimony.  When Liam and Sybil meet, both quickly realize they must put aside their pre-conceived ideas of what it means to be Scottish and English because the attraction between them is too intense to ignore.

Liam and Sybil bicker like two children on a playground – and flirt like children too!  This made for a very entertaining read, although just when I thought these two were finally starting to get over their prejudices, Liam’s mother arrives to stir up more trouble!  Sybil has a sharp wit and strong opinions regarding what she desires in a husband.  No arranged marriage for her!  Sybil refuses to settle for anything less than love and will not be bullied or pushed around by anyone.  Liam was a pleasant surprise as he was quite well read (a Jane Austen fan!), humbly intelligent, and yet still presented as a capable laird and businessman.  I particularly enjoyed Liam and Sybil’s interactions with Liam’s family.

There were a few things that bothered me though.  The biggest was that I didn’t quite understand why  Sybil developed her prejudices against the Scottish people.  It was very well established that Sybil comes from an unconventionally progressive family, so for her to believe that all Scotsmen were drunken, lusty brawlers seemed a little out of character.  I completely understood why Liam (and his clan) had their prejudices against the English, but I just didn’t understand Sybil’s.

That aside, I really enjoyed this installment of the Marriage Mayhem series.  I have not read the other books in the series, so I can say with some confidence that you are able to read this book as a standalone.  There are references made to Sybil’s other family members (whom I assume star in their own books), but enough context is provided that I didn’t feel like I was missing anything.

Divider

Gambling on the Outlaw by Margaret Madigan

June 26, 2015 Historical Romance, Reviews 0 ★★★½

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Gambling on the Outlaw by Margaret MadiganGambling on the Outlaw by Margaret Madigan
Series: Nevada Bounty #1
Published by Entangled Publishing on June 23, 2015
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 251
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Nevada is no easy place for a woman, especially for Beth Caldwell, a gambler's widow with an independent streak. When she refuses to marry the local cattle baron-who wants to add her land to his empire-Beth ends up with a powerful enemy. But it's not until she finds a handsome outlaw hiding in her barn that her trouble really begins.

Isaac Collins survived the Civil War only to find himself the scapegoat for stagecoach robbery and murder. With nothing left to lose, he gambles everything on revenge...and barely escapes with his life. He stumbles back to Beth's place, and as she nurses him back to health something tender and heated grows between them.

But in Nevada, sometimes everything can ride on one high-stakes game of chance...and Beth's rejected suitor will do whatever it takes to get what he wants.

Several years ago, Beth Caldwell lost her card-shark husband to a bad game of cards.  Since then, she’s run her homestead and taken care of the local misfits – a Native American woman raped and left for dead with a child on the way, another woman abandoned by her family and deserted at the altar, and a retired prostitute.  Beth has a big heart, but she’s practical too with a spine of steel.  When the neighboring cattle-baron comes sniffing around demanding Beth marry him, it’s easy to reject the sleezy, but powerful tycoon.  But that same tycoon has also framed Issac Collins for multiple-murder and stagecoach robbery, so when Beth finds Issac hiding in her barn she believes his story of innocence and helps him escape the sheriff’s posse on his tail.

Beth is one determined woman!  When she sets her mind to something, there is absolutely no wavering from her path.  She will make whatever-it-is happen and woe-be-tide anyone who has the misfortune to get in her way.  Beth’s nerves of steel and stead-fast nature allow her to thrive in the tough Nevada desert, not just against the harsh climate but also against the equally-harsh men who run the town.  She’s also as great a card-player as her late husband and the men in the story all underestimate her and her abilities, which comes in handy when later gambling with Issac’s life.

Issac also possesses a very determined nature, but in a very different way from Beth.  Issac’s near-single-minded focus throughout the novel was the murder of the cattle-baron tycoon who framed him for murder at the beginning of the novel.  This focus clouds everything he does until very slowly, his love for Beth begins to take root and weed out the hatred in Issac’s heart.  Issac is quite heroic and a take-charge kind of guy, ready to ride in and rescue his damsel in distress.  Except he quickly learns that while Beth may be a damsel, she can get herself out of her own distress thank you very much!

I really enjoyed watching Issac and Beth learn how to work together.  Issac needed a goal and focus beyond the tycoon’s murder and Beth needed to learn how to let others take care of her, that she didn’t always have to have all the answers.  A good read, especially if you enjoy novels set in the wild west.

Divider

Beauty’s Curse by Tamara Hughes

June 19, 2015 Historical Romance, Reviews 0 ★★★½

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Beauty’s Curse by Tamara HughesBeauty's Curse by Tamara Hughes
Published by Entangled Publishing on June 9, 2015
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 175
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
three-half-stars
England, 1722

Amelia Archer will be the ruin of her family. Her extraordinary bad luck is burden enough, but her sweet, trusting nature often lands her in impossible scrapes. After the last straw, Amelia's harried father ships his unfortunate daughter off to the Colonies to live with her aunt. But wherever Amelia goes, bad luck is sure to follow...

Pirate David Lamont is taken with the lovely young Englishwoman the moment she's pulled aboard from her sinking vessel. But sailors are already a superstitious lot and Amelia is unwelcome. In a feat of chivalry, David defends and claims her for himself...

Now their fortunes—for good or ill—are invariably tied. But as much as she longs for him, Amelia cannot allow a romance. For a lady of misfortune can only bring ruin to those she loves…

Miss Amelia Archer is bad luck.  Stomach bug?  Her fault.  Ship attacked by pirates?  Her fault.  The wind fails to blow?  Her fault.  Disaster follows where ever she goes and Amelia simply can’t stand to watch the rest of her family suffer, so she books passage to the Virginia colonies to start her life anew.  But halfway into the journey, the ship is attacked by pirates and Amelia must convince her new shipmates that she’s not as bad as the others claim.  Thankfully, the pirates’ musician, David Lamont, speaks up for her amongst the crew and manages to calm their superstitious minds.  For now.

This story has everything you would expect in a good pirate adventure novel – sword fights, deserted (sort of) islands, the fight for survival, and, of course, rum!  Or something like it anyways.  Amelia and David had an instant-love attraction that quickly manifested in the form of David’s intense desire to protect and care for Amelia.  Together, they acted as each other’s sounding board and counselor.  Amelia convinces David to return to a family he believed abandoned him and David helps Amelia see that her “curse” of bad luck was really just the jealous ravings of her step-mother.

The plot was one adventure after another and there were more than a few times I had to remind myself this was a romance novel and our heroes would be just fine.  (or would they!?  Oh no, keep reading and find out!)  I really wish this novel could have been longer to allow those plot lines to develop further.  I would have loved to learn more about Issac and Ruth as well and how their story more fully tied into Amelia and David’s story.  Overall a very entertaining read!

Divider