Source: the Publisher

Divider

Getting Rough by C. L. Parker

January 26, 2016 Contemporary Romance, Erotica, Reviews 0 ★★★½

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Getting Rough by C. L. ParkerGetting Rough by C L Parker
Series: Monkey Business Trio #2
Published by Bantam on January 26, 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Hotshot San Diego sports agent Shaw Matthews and his sexy professional adversary Cassidy Whalen have gone head-to-head in the boardroom—and the bedroom. Now Shaw has scored a big promotion—but only because Cassidy turned it down and ran off. There are many things he wants when it comes to Cassidy—just not her pity. So Shaw rushes to a small town in Maine to retrieve his dignity—and maybe the woman he’s hungry to claim once more.

Cassidy has pushed herself to the max to realize her career dreams—until a family crisis brings her home. But Shaw isn’t letting Cassidy go that easily. Neither is gorgeous heartthrob Casey Michaels, the childhood sweetheart she left behind—and who now wants to win her back. As the rivalry between the two alpha males intensifies, and Shaw’s seductive moves reach a whole new level of heat, Cassidy has to make a choice. And this time, it’s for the highest stakes of all.

GETTING ROUGH is the second in a series and it is highly recommended that first-time readers read PLAYING DIRTY (first in the series) before reading this novel.  This installment of the trilogy picks up right where the last book left off.  Shaw is about to enjoy his new promotion and Cassidy has run off to her hometown in Maine.  Despite their animosity-hiding-possible-love, Shaw makes the decision to follow Cassidy to Maine and when a hurricane comes hurtling through the sleeping lobster-catching village, Shaw and Cassidy are forced to confront whatever-it-is simmering underneath the surface of their fights.  Add to this volatile mix the presence of Cassidy’s childhood sweetheart also vying for Cassidy’s heart and readers are in for a steamy, passionate treat!

I enjoyed this new set of characters we meet in Maine as well as the new setting.  Cassidy and Shaw are very much city-folk, so to see them trying to figure out whatever-it-is between them in the sleepy Maine town was endearing.  I just hope they’ll be able to maintain it once they go back into the city.  Told from multiple points of view, readers get inside not only Cassidy and Shaw’s heads, but also that of the childhood sweetheart and a few others.  While this isn’t my favorite form of storytelling, it was helpful to get the plot moving along while providing some explanation as to why characters were acting in certain ways.

 

Divider

How to Rescue a Rake by Jayne Fresina

January 5, 2016 Historical Romance, Reviews 0 ★★★★½

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

How to Rescue a Rake by Jayne FresinaHow to Rescue a Rake by Jayne Fresina
Series: Book Club Belles Society #3
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on January 5, 2016
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
four-half-stars
HOW TO RESCUE A RAKE:

Reject his marriage proposal
Nathaniel Sherringham has returned to Hawcombe Prior a changed man. Gone is the reckless rake who went out on a limb to propose to Diana Makepiece three years ago. Now Nate's mysterious new wealth has the town's rumor mill spinning. To stir things up (and get Diana's attention), Nate boldly announces his plans to marry "any suitable girl" under the age of 25.

Run away
Diana, now 27 and still single, is acutely aware of Nate's return. When her mother suggests a trip to visit a cousin in Bath, Diana leaps at the chance to escape the heartbreak and regret she can't help but feel in Nate's presence...and avoid his irritating charade to find a bride.

But for Nate, Diana has always been the one. He might just have to follow her to Bath and once again lay his heart on the line to win her attention-and her heart.

HOW TO RESCUE A RAKE is a romantic story about broken hearts and second chances.  Closely mirroring many elements of Jane Austen’s PERSUASION, the hero and heroine of HOW TO RESCUE A RAKE, Nathaniel Sherringham and Diana Makepiece were once friends with strong, but hidden, feelings for one another.  Until Nathaniel made a inebriated marriage proposal to Diana which Diana’s mother convinces her to refuse.  Though intoxicated, Nathaniel’s proposal was sincere and he leaves the village quite brokenhearted.  Fast forward three years.  Diana has become a shadow of herself, always cow towing to the wishes of her domineering mother instead of expressing her own desires of opinions.  Nathaniel is back, rich, and looking for a bride.  In a fit of wounded pique, he declares his bride must be no older than 25, even though Diana is now 27.  The plot which then follows loosely mirrors that of PERSUASION, so I would suggest readers be at least a little familiar with that wonderful novel as it would enhance a reader’s enjoyment of HOW TO RESCUE A RAKE.

Diana and Nathaniel are like peanut butter and jelly.  Diana is quiet and introverted.  Nathaniel is outgoing and boisterous.  Together, they are a wonderful match – Nathaniel is able to bring Diana out of her shell and Diana’s calm nature helps bring peace to Nathaniel’s race-about lifestyle.  Ms. Fresina does a marvelous job showing exactly why these two lovers are perfect for each other, despite their polar opposite personalities.  I loved that this was a story about second chances.  It was so painful at first to see Diana so wounded by Nathaniel’s callous comments about what he wanted in a bride.  Yet, I could understand that Nathaniel was just trying to protect himself too; of course, we also got to see that Nathaniel didn’t really mean his hurtful words.  He wanted Diana three years ago and he wants her still.

I think readers can definitely relate to many of the characters in this novel and the experiences they go through.  I highly recommend reading this novel, especially for fans of Jan Austen!

Divider

A Whisper of Desire by Bronwen Evans

December 29, 2015 Historical Romance, Reviews 0 ★★★½

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Whisper of Desire by Bronwen EvansA Whisper of Desire by Bronwen Evans
Series: The Disgraced Lords #4
Published by Random House on December 1, 2015
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 273
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Lady Marisa Hawkstone’s nightmare is just beginning when she wakes up naked, with no memory of the night before, lying next to Maitland Spencer, the Duke of Lyttleton—a man so aloof and rational, he’s nicknamed “the Cold Duke.” A scandal ensues, in which Marisa’s beloved beau deserts her. As a compromised woman, Marisa agrees to marry Maitland. But on her wedding night, Marisa discovers the one place the duke shows emotion: in the bedroom, where the man positively scorches the sheets.

Taught from a young age to take duty seriously, Maitland cannot understand his new wife’s demands on his love and affection. Marisa’s hot-blooded spirit, however, does have its attractions—especially at night. In retrospect, it seems quite silly that he didn’t marry sooner. But being one of the Libertine Scholars requires constant vigilance, even more so when the enemy with a grudge against his closest friends targets Marisa. Now Maitland must save the woman who sets his heart aflame—or die trying.

I would classify this story as historical erotica instead of historical romance.  The plot revolves around a sex-based inciting incident and most, if not all, of the major plot points are also sex-based.  This isn’t a criticism – I thoroughly enjoyed A WHISPER OF DESIRE.  I simply point this out at the beginning of my review for those readers who prefer their historical romances more tame and/or based on non-sex-based plot points.

Maitland Spencer, Duke of Lyttleton, takes his role as a Duke of the realm very seriously, to the point where he is nicknamed “The Cold Duke” for his taciturn and aloof demeanor.  In this respect, he reminds me a little of Mr. Darcy from PRIDE AND PREJUDICE in that he is seemingly proud, but hides his great depth of emotion behind a mask of indifference.  Maitland is more proactive than Mr. Darcy, of course, and when he sees an opportunity to get his friend’s sister, Marisa, away from a horrible beau, he seizes the opportunity.  Compromised, Marisa is quickly wed to Maitland and the two begin to explore the pleasures of the marriage bed.

Marisa is far more emotionally mature than Maitland and as a result she is able to draw upon a great deal of inner strength when Maitland tries to pull away from her.  She is not afraid to explore her more sensual side with Maitland and uses this curiosity to encourage Maitland to open up to her emotionally as well as physically.

I enjoyed this couple and the fast-paced nature of A WHISPER OF DESIRE.  While it can be read as a standalone, it is obviously part of an on-going series, with some necessary backstory that must be understood for other events to make sense.  Maitland and Marisa also leave a lot of trouble in their wake at the end of this book, which with obviously (hopefully??) be addressed in a future installment.

Divider

Wild Ride by Cathryn Fox

December 25, 2015 Contemporary Romance, Erotica, Reviews 0 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Wild Ride by Cathryn FoxWild Ride by Cathryn Fox
Series: Playing for Keeps #2
Published by Entangled Publishing on October 19, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 98
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars
Good girl, meet bad cowboy...

Marketing Tycoon Tyler Mackenzie, a.k.a. Wildman Mac, has a knack for knowing what people want and, more importantly, what they need…so when he decides to show sweet and sexy yoga instructor Jess Gray that she's the one for him, he puts a seductive campaign into motion.

When Mac defines the terms for the week and insists she do everything he says, Jess can't help but be intrigued. Since this good girl wants to break free and do something naughty, she agrees to his terms and soon finds herself embarking on a sexual journey that knows no limits. For Jess this is one week of living out her fantasies, but Mac is determined to make this wild ride last forever.

One week can change someone for a lifetime.  Tyler Mackenzie has always known that his childhood friend Jess was the perfect woman for him and has harbored deep feelings for her since their high school days together.  Tyler convinces Jess to come to his ranch and spends the week showing her exactly all the ways he is as perfect for her as she is for him.  And of course, he is the only one who is able to fulfill all her shy, dirty fantasies she’s kept hidden from the rest of the world.

Wow, wow, and wow!  What a fun and naughty read!  I loved this novella from start to finish and really wish it could have been longer.  In true novella fashion, Tyler and Jess fall into bed pretty quickly, but this was somewhat believable knowing these characters had a long past together.  The sex is steamy and even kinky!  This is the perfect book for those looking for a quick read that may spark some new ideas for your own bedroom.

Divider

Tempting the New Boss by Angela Claire

December 22, 2015 Contemporary Romance, Erotica, Reviews 0 ★★★

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Tempting the New Boss by Angela ClaireTempting the New Boss by Angela Claire
Series: Sleeping With the Enemy #3
Published by Entangled Publishing on October 19, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 200
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
three-stars
Sometimes you have to break the rules…

When Camilla Anderson loses her job just as a position at Talbot Inc. opens up, there's no way she's questioning the lucky break. Working for the quirky, reclusive CEO will pay off her student loans within a year, and they're flying to Europe in his private jet.

Mason Talbot isn't good at talking to women. Well, to anyone, really. But when his new lawyer boards his plane, biology kicks in. But he can't tell if her adverse reaction is to him or his painfully awkward attempts at flirting.

As the flight gets bumpier, Mr. High IQ gets calmer. And…he holds her hand? Maybe the guy is redeemable after all. As soon as they land, she'll have to teach her endearingly awkward new boss how to seduce a girl properly.

That is, if they don't die in a fiery plane crash first.

Mason Talbot is incredibly blunt, almost registering on the Asperger’s scale.  He’s a billionaire who unfortunately needs more than a little help navigating social situations.  Thankfully his new lawyer, Camilla Anderson, is a whiz at reading people and diffusing tense situations.

This was a slow-start kind of book.  I didn’t really connect to the characters, but was eventually entertained by their story.  Mason’s bluntness is almost comical at times and as a reader I almost felt sorry for him.  Camilla was a little wishy-washy.  She’s say one thing and do another, which I felt was a little off-putting and disingenuous to her lawyer-background character.

That said, the romance was sweet and the sex steamy, just the way I like my erotica!  I definitely gave bonus points for having such an unique hero like Mason.

Divider

How to Seduce a Scot by Christy English

December 1, 2015 Historical Romance, Reviews 0 ★★★

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

How to Seduce a Scot by Christy EnglishHow to Seduce a Scot by Christy English
Series: Broadswords and Ballrooms #1
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on December 1, 2015
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
three-stars
He's the terror of the ton...

The plan is simple:
1. Descend from the Highlands to face the aggravation of a London Season;
2. Foist his wild sister off on some gullible English lord;
3. Retreat before the ladies of the scandalized
ton can get any ideas.

Determined to see his hellion of a sister wed, Highlander Alexander Waters is willing to face anything—even the English. He just didn't expect his own rough manners to cause such a riot...or for a blooming English rose to catch his eye.

Gently bred Catherine Middlebrook must find a respectable man to marry or her family will be ruined. She won't allow herself to be distracted by Highland barbarians...no matter how her body may thrill whenever Alex is near.

Catherine wasn't part of the plan, but as their battle of wills escalates, Alex comes to realize this "proper" English girl is as wild as the Highlands themselves...and nothing will stop him from having her.

After her family’s disastrous attempts at managing the family finances, Catherine Middlebrook and her sister are left practically penniless with just enough money to give Catherine a single Season.  A Season in which she must find and marry a rich gentleman.  As quickly as she can.  Yesterday, if at all possible.  Lucky for Catherine, the kind (if boring) Lord Farleigh is interested in her.  But the polite attentions of Lord Farleigh are nothing compared to a single glance from the enticing Scotsman, Alexander Waters.  From their first meeting, Catherine and Alexander are attracted to each other with frightening intensity.  Catherine is frustrated and confused; she must marry for money, not the love of a Scotsman, nor matter how appealing he is in his kilt.  Alexander is equally appalled.  He came to London to marry off his little sisters and hie himself back to the Highlands, away from the Sassenach and their ridiculous society rules.

This is a very sweet romance; not at all what I expected from a novel whose hero is a Scottish highlander, but enjoyable nonetheless.  Catherine is young, but is attempting to heroically save her family from scandal and ruination by marrying the richest man who will take her instead of someone who might value and love her.  Alexander is equally sweet; not at all what I expected.  When I think ‘Scottish highlander,’ I think of big, hulking alpha males who care little for the rules and strictures of regency society, ready to create mischief and scandal where ever they go.  Instead, Alexander is quite the gentleman.  Frankly, I think he probably could have been any one of the English lords about the ballroom.

There are a few things that didn’t work for me, but the biggest problem was this: Catherine needed to marry the richest man available, so I understood why she wanted to marry Lord Farleigh.  However, Alexander was an equally rich (or so I thought) Scotsman.  And with this background, I didn’t understand why Catherine believed that she couldn’t marry Alexander instead of Lord Farleigh.  Alexander has the money her family needs and they love each other to boot, so what’s the problem?

Divider

The Lost Soul of Lord Badewyn by Mia Marlowe

November 24, 2015 Historical Romance, Paranormal Romance, Reviews 0 ★★★★½

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Lost Soul of Lord Badewyn by Mia MarloweThe Lost Soul of Lord Badewyn by Mia Marlowe
Series: Order of the M.U.S.E. #3
Published by Entangled Publishing on November 23, 2015
Genres: Historical Romance, Paranormal Romance
Pages: 318
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Meg Anthony was never raised a lady. Instead, she grew up amongst grifters who used her unique “finding” ability for their own selfish purposes. Recently, she's been taken under the wing of the Duke of Camden and the Order of M.U.S.E., learning not only the fine art of becoming a lady, but how to use her extraordinary talent to help others.

But Meg's gift is a beacon to unsavory characters who would possess her.

Charged with her protection, Lord Badewyn knows—too well—that his wild, Welsh castle is no safe haven for this lovely, all-too-desirable creature. Part human, part fallen angel, he is one of the Nephilim. He is a recluse sworn never to love. As the dangers to Meg grow more threatening, he cannot help but find himself tempted beyond all reason...and tested to see if he has both a heart and a soul.

Another fantastic installment in the Order of the M.U.S.E. series!  In this book, Meg Anthony – a supernaturally-gifted finder of lost things – is introduced to Lord Samuel Badewyn, an intelligent recluse who cares more for what is found amongst the stars and heavenly bodies than the physical bodies of humans.  Lord Badewyn is only half human, the son of a fallen angel and the human he fell in love with.  Now he eschews human interaction for fear of what his father will do – every time one of his father’s sons marry, Sam’s father seduces and impregnates the wife who later dies in childbirth.  It is this deceit that keeps Sam and Meg apart for much of the story.  Sam cares too much for Meg’s life to endanger it by marrying her.  Of course, Meg’s determination, feisty nature, and inability to act like a proper lady – once a bemoaned curse – helps brings these lovers together (and provide some much needed comedic relief too).

Other characters are equally compelling and fans of this series will recognize some familiar faces from previous books.  I’ve been interested in learning Meg’s story since the first novel and now we finally get it.

As with the other Order of the M.U.S.E. books, there is mystery, suspense, and paranormal doings interspersed throughout this entertaining regency romance.  If you enjoy a dash of paranormal in your romances, please check out this entire series!  This particular novel can be read as a standalone as the author does an excellent job of explaining just enough of the necessary elements for new readers to understand what’s going on without needing to read the other novels in the series.

Divider

Viking Warrior Rising by Asa Marie Bradley

November 6, 2015 Contemporary Romance, Paranormal Romance, Reviews 0 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Viking Warrior Rising by Asa Marie BradleyViking Warrior Rising by Asa Marie Bradley
Series: Viking Warriors #1
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on November 3, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Paranormal Romance
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars
Leif Skarsganger and his elite band of immortal warriors have been charged to protect humanity from the evil Norse god Loki.

Under attack from Loki’s minions, Leif is shocked to encounter a dark-haired beauty who fights like a warrior herself. Wounded and feverish, the Viking kisses her, inadvertently triggering an ancient Norse bond. But when Naya Brisbane breaks away and disappears before the bond is completed, Leif’s warrior spirit goes berserk. If Leif doesn’t find her fast, he’s going to lose himself to permanent battle fury.

But Naya doesn’t want to be found...and he’ll do anything to find her. Because they’re both running out of time.

A strong start to what I’m sure will be a great series, VIKING WARRIOR RISING was a rollercoaster from start to finish.  Filled with fantasy and mythological elements such a Norse gods, Valkyries, and Berserkers, but also liberally peppered with science fiction too (Naya is a super-human thanks to genetic experimentation), this novel was difficult to categorize but a thoroughly entertaining read!  Moreover, there are still many questions to be answered in upcoming installments (I hope) in this series which will have readers coming back for more.

Naya Brisbane is a super-human.  She was captured and experimented on until her abilities outgrew those who held her captive.  It is these abilities that allow her to rescue Leif, King of the Beserkers and leader of the army sent by Odin to battle Loki’s minions on earth.  Once Leif recovers from the drug Loki’s minions used on him, instant attraction blooms between him and Naya.  But Leif and Naya have major (make that MAJOR) trust issues which make up most of the back-and-forth romance between the two lovers.

The romance isn’t really the focal point of this novel, however.  Sure, it plays an important role, but I felt as though much of the plot was devoted to the first stirrings of battle between Odin and Loki’s armies.  Regardless, I still very much enjoyed VIKING WARRIOR RISING and look forward to more novels in this series.  Can’t wait to see what happens next!

Divider

Daniel’s True Desire by Grace Burrowes

November 3, 2015 Historical Romance, Reviews 0 ★★★★½

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Daniel’s True Desire by Grace BurrowesDaniel's True Desire by Grace Burrowes
Series: True Gentlemen #2
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on November 3, 2015
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 448
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Daniel Banks is a man of the cloth whose vocation is the last comfort he has left–and even his churchman’s collar is beginning to feel like a noose. In an attempt to start his life over, Daniel accepts the post of vicar in Haddondale, a position supported by the Earl of Haddonfield. There Daniel meets Lady Kirsten Haddonfield, to whom life has also dealt multiple unkind blows. Daniel’s interest is piqued by Kirsten’s unsentimental attitude toward her misfortunes, and by the kind-heartedness the lady keeps well hidden. Kirsten is much taken with Mr. Banks and his genuine compassion for others, despite his own troubles. When Providence intervenes, and Daniel and Kirsten can become engaged, their happiness seems complete…. though every garden has at least one nasty, sly, determined serpent.

An engaging story about two people, beaten down by life, who upon meeting each other begin to feel just a little less lonely in this cruel world.  Kirsten is sharp-tongued and has resigned herself to spinsterhood because of it.  Daniel’s previous marriage wiped the vivacity and love of life right out of him.  It isn’t until Daniel’s sister inadvertently brings these two lost souls together that Daniel and Kirsten begin to find a spark of life left inside them.

Two broken betrothals has left Kirsten Haddonfield more than a little prickly towards others.  Her motto: brush them off first before they get too close to hurt you.  She is quick-witted and sharp-tongued, hardly the first pick for gentlemen at a ball.  Her situation is made worse by an impending visit to London for her sister’s come-out.  Meeting Daniel begins to soften Kirsten, but there is a dark secret Daniel keeps lying just below the surface that will put their love to the test.

When readers meet Daniel, he is beaten down and ready to give up on everything, even his profession as a clergyman – the one thing he once felt truly passionate about.  Yet it’s easy to sympathize with a hero who readers can easily see is still compassionate and kind.  A perfect match for the heroine!  Indeed, when Daniel and Kirsten meet, it’s like two halves of a whole coming together.  Each can see through the other’s mask of grouchiness and complacency to the true person hiding underneath.

Daniel’s secret (which I won’t give away here) brings a sense of urgency and bittersweetness to Daniel and Kirsten’s relationship and provides much of the physical and emotional tension.  An intense, but imminently satisfying read – I highly recommend checking out DANIEL’S TRUE DESIRE as well as any other book by the phenomenal Grace Burrowes!

Divider

Miss Merton’s Last Hope by Heather Boyd

October 30, 2015 Historical Romance, Reviews 0 ★★★½

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Miss Merton’s Last Hope by Heather BoydMiss Merton's Last Hope by Heather Boyd
Series: Miss Mayhem #4
Published by LLD Press on October 13, 2015
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 130
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Over the years, Melanie Merton has used every trick and ruse to repel overeager gentlemen callers without ever revealing the real reason she won’t say yes to an offer of marriage. When neighbor Walter George jumps to her defense against slurs cast by suitor number twelve, he also pries into her past—uncovering the circumstances around a tragic loss in her childhood and her aversion to being touched by anyone. But even protective Walter must be kept at a distance for his own good, because despite a growing attraction between them, Melanie must deny him too.

Unlike other men his age in Brighton, Walter George hadn’t considered Melanie Merton for a wife because he was convinced he’d never have a chance to impress his haughty neighbor. But that was before he understood her better, before he uncovered why she kept friends and suitors alike at bay. The right husband could restore the woman he sees into some semblance of the fun-loving child of his memory, but would Walter stand a chance or become just another unlucky suitor?

Melanie Merton has acquired the unfortunate reputation as Brighton’s coldest woman with an unrestrained and unkind tongue who has also tuned down no less than 12 suitors.  Now that her brother is married, Melanie has turned over the role of Mistress of the House to her new sister-in-law which leaves Melanie without much to do.  What no one seems to understand is Melanie means well with her seemingly unkind remarks – years of repression and conformity to society’s expectations has left her with a critical eye for detail, but without the tact necessary to convey the criticism in a kinder fashion.  As for the parade of rejected suitors, Melanie has a good reason for that too, but only her childhood friend Walter George seems to understand her.

This is a slow-build novel that brings two childhood friends together into a mature, loving relationship. The Miss Mayhem series each feature an unconventional heroine and MISS MERTON’S LAST HOPE is no different.  Melanie has very defined ideas of marriage and children and I actually enjoyed reading about a heroine who did not want children.  Like in any other relationship, this brings significant conflict to Melanie and Walter’s growing love, but they are able to weather the storm and come out together stronger and closer for it.

Melanie and Walter’s love is slow to develop and Walter realizes he loves Melanie long before she realizes she loves him in return.  But once they finally accept their mutual attraction, there are still obstacles to overcome.  MISS MERTON’S LAST HOPE is a sweet romance with a serious, realistic plot line touching on the reality that not all women long for children of their own.

Divider